Friday Five on a Sunday

19 06 2011

Over at Rev Gals Jan writes, “I am currently reading a book entitled Stairway of Surprise: Six Steps to a Creative Lifeby Michael Lipson. His premise is a quote by Ralph Waldo Emerson: “I shall mount to paradise by the stairway of surprise.” Lipson’s book is about practicing or developing six inner functions–thinking, doing, feeling, loving, opening, and thanking.

So these categories of attention are a jumping off point for today’s Friday Five:

Pick five of the six actions and write about how you are practicing them today or recently. For a bonus, write about the sixth one you originally didn’t choose!

What or how are you

1. thinking?

2. doing?

3. feeling?

4. loving?

5. opening?

6. thanking?”

So even though its Sunday evening already I thought I’d play…

“Thinking”  I’ve been thinking about the folks in Beijing who are packing up to go home or to their next posting and the community of the Congregation of the Good Shepherd and our first year in ministry with them.  I miss them and am looking forward to returning in about a month (all being well) and know it will be strange that so many of them will no longer be Beijingers!

“Doing”  Well, officially I’m convalescing!  At the moment that looks like lots of resting, some knitting, some DVD watching, reading stories to my charming godson and trying to do physio stretches in ways that make it possible for me to be a tunnel for his train.  It is also fair to say that I am waiting – now only five sleeps until Andrew arrives!

“Feeling”.  I’m feeling better.  I can stay out of bed for a little longer, chop a few more veges, read a few more pages.  I’m also full of gratitude – see thanking below!

“Loving”.  I’m going to take this lightly.  It is true that I’m loving spending time with my godson and seeing friends and family but for the purposes of Friday five I’m going to say I’m loving eating and drinking in New Zealand: broad beans; walnuts; lemon zest; sundried tomatoes; hot lemon, honey and ginger drinks; golden kiwifruit; granny smith apples; quinoa; yoghurt; ice cream; nettle cheese; apple and rhubarb tea; grainy gluten-free toast with savoury yeast flakes for breakfast; and the shelves of gluten-free options at the supermarket.

“Opening”.  My word for the year was open-hearted.  I think being in such a position of dependence on others in this three months of being sick has given me a lot of opportunity to learn to receive graciously and there has been a lot of love generously given for me to be open to!

“Thanking”  Which is the perfect follow on from opening.  I am so grateful to the friends who I am living with (Scott, Amanda and Amos).  Every day in so many small and large ways there are things to thank them for: meals and kindness and clean towels and good humour and friendship, not to mention a place to live.  I’m glad that friendships run on an economy of grace because I would be so in debt to them I’d have to apply for some kind of friendship bankruptcy!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

